Tuesday, 9 December 2014

It's kitchen time

So, first coat took 5 hours.  You know that's a long time for a room that has not a lot of wall realastate to cover.  It's all the cutting in that takes forever arrrggg.
First coat going up. 

Kitchen painted, done.....ooooww no not quite.  Now that the walls are nicely painted, fresh and new the counter top looks HORRIBLE!  I can't do this to my home!  It's like wearing an beautiful new evening gown and then putting on a ratty pair of sneakers.  Well, what's a girl to do?  I'm gonna paint it!  That's right I'm gonna paint them to look like granite stone.  That's the plan anyways.  But, that's for another post, moooahahahahahaaaa.(evil villain laugh)


Finishing the Front Window

Finishing is always the stuff you don't want to do and it takes the longest it seems.
Had to frame out the window
The bottom board I wanted to stain and made it wider so it would be a shelf.  Really happy with the way it turned out. I used my own homemade stain(vinegar in a plastic container then you add some plain fine steel wool to it with a paint stick to keep the wool submerged. Don't forget to pop holes in the lid. Let this marinate for a week then strain out the wool remnants and presto you have stain) I used my stain first and then used an ebony over top.
I think the finished window looks great.



Old furnace comes out and new one goes in

So, our last furnace was ancient, it was a wood/electric forced air furnace.  Weird I know.
Was a beast and took up a lot of space.
We re dry walled 
And painted everything, even the floor.
This is the new furnace

The Lennox SLP98V and we love her, she is quiet, efficant and warm, we feed her propane.
Now that we don't have to fill the room with wood, Bri even has a little work space.



Saturday, 12 July 2014

Insulation, vapor barrier and dry wall


Oooooww warm fluffy pink stuff!
Seal up the pink stuff
Need help to put up the drywall.  Thanks JJ
Look we have a wall now lol




Tuesday, 8 July 2014

Front window goes in

We did the front window today.  This is what we took out
And this was what is inside our wall
So we ripped it out

Just cement block and 2"foam board, not much insulation.
In goes the new one and I think it looks awesome.




Tuesday, 24 June 2014

Reno update, lots has happened, lots still to do

The RED matter is up
Yay that's done!
We took out the uninsulated back wall.  And that in uninsulated part is no joke!


You can see outside lol, and all that covered this was a piece of trim.  No wonder we are cold all the time.

 So, then let's make a hole...


 there is a hole in my house dear Liza, dear Liza....

...well fix it then dear Liza, dear Liza fix it.....




Here's the new door.

Much warmer even tho we haven't even insulated it yet lol.
I just want to say thanks to our peeps for helping us put it in, we could not have done it without you guys.

Special thank-you to these peeps












Saturday, 17 May 2014

Back at it finally

If like to say slow and steady but it's more like slow and super slow
For people wishing for high ceilings be careful of what you wish for.
Yes someone had to stand on that to edge....yikes got to have nerves of steel.
Can't wait to put up the new lights.

Tuesday, 18 March 2014

Starting on the last bedroom floor

Yay, starting the last bedroom floor, then the bathroom is only left and the upstairs will be complete......although stuff keeps coming up and haven't started yet lol my crazy life.

Taking my moms slow cooker on a trial run...
It's a biggie 8 qu.  Also new recipe that calls for a can of manwich and boy does it smell good.

Starting the floor
......
....so this is how far we got
That's all folks, good night y'all 


Saturday, 15 March 2014

Found something really yummy

Chick pea wrap
I've tried this various ways and found this is the tastiest way.  You take a large torrtia wrap and first shred some cheddar  on it.
Then microwave it till it looks like this...
Then top with shredded lettuce 
Then in a bowl mix 1 can of chick peas, 1 red diced pepper, some diced onion then squeeze 1 lemon over that and drizzle some olive oil over it too.  Then spoon pea salad over lettuce and wrap it.
That's a wrap folks.




Thursday, 13 March 2014

Still living in a construction zone


Well haven't blogged in a very long while.  Been so very busy.  We now have 3 rooms painted.  We are still living in a construction zone.
Argh.....I think if I could do it over again a "move in ready" house is sounding pretty sweet right now.
The study is done but I should have taken the picture before we dismantled the other room and dumped it's contended in it, sorry it's done but a mess.  
The spare room is now painted and waiting for its flooring.
And it's snowing like a dandruffy old man is having a seizure.  Arrrrg.....really tired of all our snow! It's snowmagedon...
That's our house, not so curb appealing right now
And our 6 foot fence would not keep in the smallest k9-ankle biter lol.